Dear Friends and Family,
There are dogs everywhere in Chile . There are tons and
tons of dogs and cats all over the place and the dogs are super loud. I
really can’t quite understand...It is kind of funny. If you walk by some
houses the dogs go nuts and start barking and then sometimes it sets off all
the other dogs in the neighborhood and then all the dogs start barking and then
you can’t hear anything. Sometimes you don’t even have to walk by the
house they just start barking if they see you. Yesterday we were talking
to one of our contacts and setting up an appointment with him, but there were
three dogs behind him that were trying to eat each other and I was trying
really hard to focus but I couldn't stop looking at the dogs. Then we
left and I was like, "Oh my goodness Hermana Wood, get your priorities
straight. What is more important, a son of God or a couple of dogs trying
to eat each other?" So now I am going to try to be a little more
focused and not get so distracted by the giant dog population here.
It is supposed to rain here about 90% of the time but I got here
during the 10% of sun fortunately. Isn’t that nice? I hope it lasts
a couple more weeks, but I don’t know. My nose is red. I need to buy some
sunscreen. One of the reasons I am glad it hasn’t started raining is
because our apartment has problems. The shower leaks, the toilet leaks,
and yesterday something from the ceiling started leaking, so as you can imagine
there are certain parts of the house that just don’t ever get dry. I don’t
know what we are going to do when it starts raining ... haha. Speaking of
my apartment, I told you the ceiling is really low right? Well I hit my
head on it A LOT. Isn’t that sad? There is a board that stretches
across the ceiling and it gets me every time...I can’t decide if it is
affecting my brain or not. I know I am clumsy, but I feel like I have
been extra clumsy lately. This week we were walking in the street and
there was one part of the sidewalk that had a bunch of little rocks and I guess
it was just too much for me to handle because I totally slipped and pretty much
did the splits in the middle of the street. How embarrassing is that?
Then right after that we tried to talk to some people in the street and
they didn’t really want to listen to us but they were like "Be careful
walking!" and I was like...ugh...yeah...You would have all found it very
funny.
Anyway, as a new American missionary fresh to the mission field
I never know what is going on. I try really hard to figure out what is
going on, but I really just don’t know most of the time. Sad huh?
It is pretty funny sometimes. People would be shocked if they knew
I was actually smart. There is one investigator that talks to
Hermana Zortman and I like we are the dumbest little girls in the world. He
is so funny, I love him.
Oh speaking of investigators, there is one guy we met this week
that is super obsessed with family history. He is crazy. He has
these enormous family trees in his house and all these little artifacts from
Puerta Montt and Puerta Varas. He is super funny. I have a pretty
good future planned for him. First, he will get baptized. Then in a
year he will go to the temple and love it and then he will become a temple
worker. It’s perfect because he goes to Santiago all the time for work so he doesn’t
even have to move! I am so excited. He doesn’t believe in God
though, so we have some work to do but I don’t think it will be a problem.
He went to Santiago
this week but he has a Book of Mormon and we showed him the cool genealogy
parts so he will probably have read it by the time he gets back and then boom!
Hahaha, I love being a missionary.
I better go.
Love,
Lexie